- Driving After Using Marijuana in Missouri - Ryan R. Cox & Associates, LLC


Since recreational cannabis became available for sale in Missouri, car crashes caused by those under the influence are becoming increasingly common.

Missouri weed limits while driving can be complex to navigate.

Because the state does not have standard limits for how much THC can be in a person’s system while operating a motor vehicle and due to the law’s ambiguity on a driver legally driving after consuming marijuana, it is important to understand how and for how long the drug will affect a motorist’s ability to drive.

If someone causes an accident while under the influence of marijuana, they can be liable for any resulting injuries and other losses.

How Long Does Marijuana Affect a Person’s Driving Abilities After Smoking It?

The effects of smoking marijuana can be felt almost immediately, typically within a few minutes. The main psychoactive compound in cannabis, THC, quickly enters the bloodstream and begins to impair cognitive functions, motor skills, and reaction times.

Does marijuana impair driving?

Yes. Smoking marijuana can significantly impact driving abilities for up to three to four hours after use. However, the duration and extent of impairment can vary based on factors such as the potency of the marijuana, the individual’s tolerance, and how much was consumed.


How Long Does Marijuana Affect a Person’s Driving Abilities After Ingesting It?

When cannabis is ingested in edible form, such as brownies or gummies, the effects take longer to manifest but can last much longer compared to smoking. It typically takes 30 minutes to two hours for the effects of edibles to be felt, as the THC has to pass through the digestive system before entering the bloodstream.

How long after smoking weed can someone drive?

Because the effects of cannabis can persist for up to eight hours or longer (depending on the dose and the individual’s metabolism), drivers should wait at least eight hours after consuming edibles before attempting to drive, as the impairment can be significant and long-lasting.


What Are the Penalties for Driving High in Missouri?

A first offense of driving while high on marijuana can lead to six months in jail or a $500 fine, as well as a 30-day license suspension. Incarceration sentences and fines increase significantly for each subsequent offense or if the intoxication leads to an accident that injures or kills another individual.

Furthermore, the offender will be financially responsible for any injury-related losses such as medical bills, lost wages, property damage, and pain and suffering.


Injured by an Impaired Driver? Contact Ryan R. Cox & Associates, LLC

If you have suffered injuries in a car accident caused by someone who was high on marijuana, an experienced Missouri car accident attorney can help you secure the compensation you deserve.

The seasoned legal team at Ryan R. Cox & Associates, LLC, has an excellent track record of securing favorable results for our clients, and we are ready to hold the at-fault party accountable for their negligence.

Contact us today for a free personal injury case review to learn more about how we can help you.